top of page


Student of the Year Awards

The High School Student of the Year (SOTY) and College Student of the Year (CSOTY) Awards are presented to students who have

demonstrated excellence in the study and promotion of German at a high school or college/university in the state of Georgia. The chapter reserves the right not to award this

honor every year.

Criteria and Procedure

  • The nominee's teacher/professor must be a member of AATG in good standing.
  • The nominee must be a junior or senior who has been an outstanding student of German. When selecting the winner, seniors may be given preference.

  • The nominee should have plans to continue with their study of German.

  • The nominee should have a keen interest in the culture of German-speaking countries.

  • Applicants will meet with the committee at the State German Convention (Friday evening). Failure to attend this convention will result in disqualification. Applicants will be asked to write an extemporaneous composition as well as converse in German with the Selection Committee.

  • The Selection Committee is composed of members who have no direct connection with any of the candidates. The AATG-GA Testing and Awards Chair will select committee members and chair the committee. The chapter president may be an ex-officio member.

  • The winner will be announced at the Awards Ceremony at the State German Convention.

  • The winner is required to attend the AATG-GA Awards Ceremony in early May where they will receive the actual award.

  • The winner must upon completion of their stay in Germany submit by September 1 of that same year a report for publication on the website of the AATG-GA Chapter.

  • The winner must give permission to AATG-GA Chapter to use their photographs in its electronic publications.

Instructions for the Nominee

  • Check your calendar to make sure you will be able to fulfill all agreed obligations.
  • Print out the SOTY APPLICATION FORM (for the high school student of the year) or the CSOTY APPLICATION FORM (for the College Student of the Year), complete it, and submit it to the Testing and Awards Chair by the announced deadline.

  • Retain copies of your application and this page for your records.

  • Communicate with your instructor who will be notified about the Awards Ceremony and all other requirements you are expected to meet.


2024  Hallie Phillips (South Forsyth)

2023  Noah McDaniel (Parkview)

2022  Katherine Yang (South Forsyth)

2021  Jesus Lopez Alvarez (Collins Hill)

2020  Maggie Lonsway (South Forsyth)

2019  Ayonica Bhattacharya (South Forsyth)

2018  Christine Yang (South Forsyth)

2018  Trey Jackson (Parkview)

2017  Matthew Powell (South Forsyth)

2016  Zachary Sanchez (North Gwinnett)

2015  Dae Gun Chung Kim (North Gwinnett)

2014  Hildana Haileyesus (Parkview)

2013  Chelsea Morris (The Walker School)

2012  Andy Wong (Northview)

2011  Justin Meyer (Northview)

2010  Allison Kuester (Parkview)

2009  Tiffany Diebold (Lakeside)

2008  Kate Hardin (Parkview)

2007  Elliot Sturmlauf (Parkview)

2006  Lorenza Cazares (Collins Hill)

2005  Christen Hicks (The Walker School)

2004  Allison Gray (Screven County)

2003  Meredith Conrad (Lovett)

2002  Alan Hoffman (Marietta)

2001  Karin Mader (The Walker School)

2000  Tiffany Lamphere (McEachern)

1999  Wes Withrow (Screven County)


2024  Kristina Hilko (Georgia Tech)

2023  Hannah Kreuziger (Emory)

2022  Christopher Ballenger (Georgia Tech)

2021  Max Wang (Emory)

2020  Brandon Wyatt (UGA)

2019  Samantha Baker (Kennesaw State)

2016  Aaron Fuchs (Kennesaw State)


of the Year Awards

The Teacher/Professor of the Year Awards are presented to members of AATG-GA who have distinguished themselves as instructors of German either through the performance of their students or through exceptional efforts to enhance the teaching of German in the state of Georgia. 

The recipients are chosen by the chapter's Executive Board and committees appointed by the Testing and Awards Chair. 


Candidates must have been full-time, regular (or life) AATG members in good standing for at least two academic years prior to the application deadline. Candidates can nominate themselves or be nominated by a colleague, a current or former student, or anyone else with direct knowledge of the candidate’s professional qualifications. Nominations/applications must be submitted to the Testing and Awards Chair by the announced deadline. 



The award will be presented at the annual AATG-GA Honors Ceremony, usually held on the first Saturday of May.


2024  Rebecca Mooney (North Gwinnett)

2023  Ashley McCarty (Centennial)

2022  Stefani Legall-Riddle (South Forsyth)

2021  Timo Snider (Decatur)  

2020  Jennifer Lane (Collins Hill)  

2019  Bill Morgan (The Walker School)

2018  Jonas Strecker (South Forsyth) 

2017  William Bryan (Sandy Creek)

2016  Sanja Knezovic (Parkview)

2015  Rita Prescott (Union Grove)

2014  Michaela Claus-Nix (South Forsyth)

2013  Patrick Wallace (Spalding)

2011  Dot Kemptner (Northview)

2010  Rita Prescott (Union Grove)

2009  Jill Tweedy (Collins Hill)

2009  Sanja Knezovic (Parkview)

2008  Janet Ward (The Walker School)

2007  David Jahner (Brookwood)

2006  Cassandra Goolsby (North Gwinnett)

2005  Stacey Cummings (Peachtree Ridge)

2004  Kevin Keough (McIntosh)

2003  David Jahner (Brookwood)

2002  Janet Ward (The Walker School) 

2001  Susan Crooks (Pope)  

2000  Glen Peppel (The Lovett School)

1999  Jennifer Schultz (Browns Mill Elementary)

1998  Ava Wyatt (Dalton)

1997  Rebecca Hauseman (Sprayberry)

1996  Jana Müller-Schobel (Norcross)


2024  Sabine Smith (Kennesaw State University)

2023  Horst Kurz (Georgia Southern University)

2022  Daniel Walter (Emory University)

2021  Peter Höyng (Emory University) 

2020  Jenny Strakovsky (Georgia Tech)

2019  Sabine Smith (Kennesaw State University)

2018  Britta Kallin (Georgia Tech)

2017  Inge DiBella (University of Georgia)

2016  Monika Schulte (Piedmont College)

2010  Horst Kurz (Georgia Southern University)

2008  Robin Huff (Georgia State University)

2005  Muriel Cormican (West Georgia State) 

2003  Christine Anton (Berry College)

2002  Tom Cooper (University of Georgia)

2001  Bettina Cothran (Georgia Tech)

2000  Irmgard Immel (Morehouse College)

1999  Edward Weintraut (Mercer University)

1998  Horst Kurz (Georgia Southern University)

bottom of page